Alma Primo VE Training

For the most part, Local Electronic Collections and Portfolios are created in a similar method to how Electronic Collections and Portfolios are activated from the Community Zone.

The primary difference is that Local Electronic Resources are completely local/unique to your institution and will require manual workflows to add new portfolios, delete old portfolios, etc.

Activation/Management:

• We recommend activating a Local Electronic Collection and Service first.
• This way, new Portfolios can be associated with the Collection that already exists.
• This makes managing the Collection/Service/Portfolio easier since they are already grouped/associated, vs. having "standalone" portfolios, which can be especially hard to manage if there are a large number of them.

To Create a Local Electronic Collection:
I. Navigate to the Resources Tab > Create Inventory > Select "Add Local Electronic Collection."

• This will bring up the Electronic Collection Editor Page, where you will need to fill out the mandatory fields.
• Click Save and Continue.

2024-09-11_14-12-02.png 46.1 KB • Download

II. Create the Electronic Service

• After you clicked "save and continue", you will be prompted to create an Electronic Service; think of this as a required management "container" for Portfolios to be put inside.
• Fill out all relevant fields; it is ok if you don't fill all of them out at this point as they can be added/updated later.
• Press "Save"; this will create a local Electronic Service under the "Additional" tab:

2024-09-11_14-15-13.png 112 KB • Download

III. Creating Portfolios
 

• Find the Services section, which is located in the "Additional" tab of the Electronic Service Editor.
• Find the Service that was created when you clicked "save" in the last step
• Click "More Actions" and navigate to the Portfolio List.

This will bring you to the "Portfolios" Tab, where you can manually create portfolios, load portfolios using information pre-loaded into an excel file via the Portfolio Loader, etc.:
 

2024-09-11_14-17-54.png 94.2 KB • Download

Clicking "Load Portfolios" brings up the Activation Wizard, which allows for using the Portfolio Loader to create new portfolios, update existing portfolios, or delete portfolios:

2024-09-11_14-19-17.png 102 KB • Download

To Create a Local Portfolio:

I. Navigate to the Resources Tab > Create Inventory > Select "Add Local Portfolio"

II. You will need to associate this portfolio with a bibliographic record (either one that exists or one you will need to make on the spot)

III. You can choose to select whether this will be part of an Existing Electronic Collection or if it will be a "standalone" Portfolio that exists on it's own.

IV. You will also need to fill out other relevant fields as applicable.  For example, coverage dates, identifiers, embargo information, a Link/URL for the resource, etc.,

V. Once you click "save and done" the Portfolio will be created.



Additional Documentation for reference:
How to Create Local Electronic Resources