Select your college above or begin researching district library resources below.
Other common names: Blue Palo Verde (Spanish: Palo Verde Azul)
Germination Difficulty level: Difficult (due to process, see below)
Blue Paloverde, Danielle Carlock, 
The state tree of Arizona, deserves a place in all landscapes that have the space
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Tree |
20'X25' |
yellow (Apr-May; with secondary blooms possible after rainfall) |
Scarify, then soak seeds. Sow once soil warms (usually April) |
Easy; low water use plant |
nectar, host plant for several moth species |
flowers and pods are edible; consult Desert Harvesters for more information/recipes. |
State tree of Arizona |
Thorns |
RECOMMENDED USE IN THE LANDSCAPE: Excellent tree for providing light shade for people, pets, and other plants. Recommended for all landscapes that can support a tree this size, but especially naturescapes/wilder spaces. Make sure to allow enough space for mature size, especially paying attention to power lines or other potential obstructions. Avoid planting near pools as it can be messy at certain times of the year. Trees that are not shaped or selectively pruned will grow more like a large shrub or multi-branched tree. Can be quite beautiful in its natural multi-branched form. Grows in association with Creosote (Larrea), Desert Ironwood (Olneya), Saguaro (Carnegiea), Ocotillo (Fouquieria) and Mesquite (Prosopis), so these plants will complement it well. Serves as a nurse plant for saguaro.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
SEINet. 2020. Parkinsonia florida profile.
Other common names: Wait a minute bush, Devilsclaw, Gregg Acacia, Gregg Catclaw, long-flower acacia, long-flower catclaw, Texas catclaw (Spanish: Uña de Gato, Tèsota, Gatuño, Palo Chino, Algarroba, Tepame).
Germination Difficulty level: Difficult (due to 2 step process, see below), easy once established as a plant
Catclaw acacia, Danielle Carlock,
Fragrant, attractive tree, uncommon in home landscapes deserves a second look due to high wildlife value
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | CAUTIONS |
|
Tree |
Up to 15' |
Yellow (Apr-Oct) |
Slight scarification then soak in hot water |
Easy; low water and full sun |
Nectar; larval host plant for Mexican yellow, Mimosa yellow, Reakirt’s blue and Marine blue butterflies |
No |
Twigs and foliage poisonous to animals if eaten Very sharp thorns; place far away from walkways and other traffic areas |
RECOMMENDED USE IN THE LANDSCAPE: Place this shrub or small tree far away from trafficked areas due to the very sharp thorns; excellent for natural areas of a property or naturescapes.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Senegalia greggii profile.
SEINet. 2020. Senegalia greggii profile.
Other common names: Catalpa Willow, Desert Catalpa, Desertwillow, False Willow, Flowering Willow, Trumpet Flower, Willow-leaf Catalpa; (Spanish: Flora de Mimbre, Mimbre, Jano, Janos)
Germination Difficulty level: Easy
Desert Willow, Danielle Carlock,
Highly fragrant and wildlife-supporting tree that lends an oasis feel to the landscape
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Tree |
Up to 25' |
Pink, white, purple |
Sow fresh seed indoors or outdoors; no pretreatment needed |
Full sun, low water |
Nectar, attracts butterflies, bees and hummingbirds |
Flowers and seed pods have been used for food (Moerman, 1998) |
Deciduous in winter Fragrant Seeds were collected from highly fragrant and established trees on SCC campus (as pictured) |
N/A |
RECOMMENDED USE IN THE LANDSCAPE: Ideal for a seating area, or any other location where you can smell the fragrant flowers and enjoy the hummingbirds (just plan for the full size of the tree). Since desert willow is winter deciduous, it is ideal for a western or southern exposure where the plant will provide shade in the summer but in winter will let the warming heat come in.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
Moerman, D. E. 1998. Native American ethnobotany. Portland: Timber Press.
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Chilopsis linearis profile.
SEINet. 2020. Chilopsis linearis profile.
Other common names: Yellow paloverde, Littleleaf paloverde (Spanish: Palo Verde, Palo Verde de Hoja Finita)
Germination Difficulty level: Difficult (due to two step process, see below)
Foothills paloverde, wonita,
Must-have tree for naturescapes; one of the best desert native trees for providing light shade
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | CAUTIONS |
|
Tree |
12'X15' |
Yellow (Apr-May; sometimes in other months after rainfall) |
Scarify seeds, soak, then sow. Sow when soil warms (typically April) |
Easy; low water use tree |
Nectar, host plant for several moth species |
Flowers and seeds are edible; consult Desert Harvesters for more information on recipes |
Thorns |
RECOMMENDED USE IN THE LANDSCAPE: Excellent tree for naturescapes, wild or natural areas in your habitat. Can also be used near patios or other areas where its excellent dappled shade can be appreciated, as long as you don't mind the thorns. Trees that are not shaped or selectively pruned will grow more like a large shrub or multi-branched tree. Grows in association with creosote, triangle leaf bursage, ocotillo and wolfberry, so these plants will complement foothills paloverde and lend a natural look to the landscape. Avoid planting near pools as it can be messy at certain times of the year.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
SEINet. 2022. Parkinsonia microphylla profile.
Other common names: Desert Ironwood (Spanish: Palo Fierro, Palo de Hierro, Tèsota)
Germination Difficulty level: Moderate difficulty (requires pretreatment, see below)
Ironwood, Danielle Carlock,
One of the most beautiful of the Sonoran desert trees
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | CAUTIONS |
|
Tree |
15'-20'+ |
Purple (Apr-June) |
Soak seeds prior to sowing |
Easy, low water use tree |
Nectar, host plant for Rawson's metalmark butterfly; used by a range of mammals and birds for food and cover |
Flowers and pods are edible. See Desert Harvesters for more information/recipes. |
Thorns |
RECOMMENDED USE IN THE LANDSCAPE: Plant as an accent or in natural areas. Like other desert trees it will tend to grow as large shrub or multibranched tree unless trained, although still very striking. Make sure to select a space where there's enough room for the plant's mature height. Grows in association with Palo Verde, Saguaro, Ocotillo, Brittlebush, Creosote Bush, and Mesquite, so these plants would complement it well in the landscape. Highly recommended for every landscape that can fit this native tree, as it is highly valuable to wildlife and provides excellent dappled shade.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Olynea tesota profile.
SEINet. 2020. Olynea tesota profile.
Other common names: Catalpa Willow, Desert Catalpa, Desertwillow, False Willow, Flowering Willow, Trumpet Flower, Willow-leaf Catalpa; (Spanish: Flora de Mimbre, Mimbre, Jano, Janos)
Germination Difficulty level: Easy
Native Desert Willow, Danielle Carlock,
Highly fragrant and wildlife-supporting tree that lends an oasis feel to the landscape
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Tree |
15', sometimes more |
Pink |
Sow fresh seed indoors or outdoors; no pretreatment needed |
Full sun, low water |
Nectar, attracts butterflies, bees and hummingbirds, moth larval host plant |
Flowers and seed pods have been used for food (Moerman, 1998) |
Deciduous in winter Lightly Fragrant Long drooping leaves distinguish it from other varieties
|
N/A |
RECOMMENDED USE IN THE LANDSCAPE: Ideal for a seating area, or any other location where you can smell the fragrant flowers and enjoy the hummingbirds (just plan for the full size of the tree). Since desert willow is winter deciduous, it is ideal for a western or southern exposure where the plant will provide shade in the summer but in winter will let the warming heat come in.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
Moerman, D. E. 1998. Native American ethnobotany. Portland: Timber Press.
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Chilopsis linearis profile.
SEINet. 2020. Chilopsis linearis profile.
Other common names: American Screwbean, Tornillo, Screwbean, Screwpod Mesquite, Twisted Bean, Fremont Screwbean
Germination Difficulty level: Moderate difficulty (requires pretreatment-see below)
Patrick Alexander, https://swbiodiversity.org/seinet/imagelib/imgdetails.php?imgid=254029
Unique pods create interest in this unusual mesquite
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | CAUTIONS |
|
Tree |
Up to 20' |
Yellow |
Soak pods and open to release brown oval shaped seeds, then soak overnight in hot water prior to sowing |
Easy, low water tree |
Nectar; special value to native bees; host plant for several butterfly species, wildlife eat the bean pods |
Pods are edible |
Thorns |
RECOMMENDED USE IN THE LANDSCAPE: Plant this high wildlife value tree in relatively smaller spaces where shade is needed (trees usually grow no taller than 20 feet, but plan for slightly larger, just in case)
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Screwbean mesquite profile
SEINet. 2020. Strombocarpa odorata profile
Other common names: Arizona mesquite (Spanish: mezquite, mezquite amargo, mesquit, algarroba, chachaca)
Germination Difficulty level: Moderate difficulty (requires pretreatment-see below)
Velvet mesquite, ck2az,
Iconic, keystone Sonoran desert tree
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Tree |
25'X25' |
White, greenish yellow to pale yellow (Apr-June) |
Soak pods until soft enough to remove seeds. Scarify and then sow when soil warms (typically April)
|
Easy, low water tree |
Nectar; special value to native bees; host plant for Marine blue, Reakirt’s blue, Ceraunus blue, Palmer’s metalmark, Leda ministreak butterflies, numerous wildlife eat the bean pods |
Pods are edible and high in protein. See Desert Harvesters for more information/recipes. This species has some of the most flavorful pods. |
Extremely valuable "keystone" plant for Sonoran desert wildlife Many mesquites sold in nurseries are not native varieties; Velvet mesquite is one of our native varieties |
Thorns |
RECOMMENDED USE IN THE LANDSCAPE: Mesquite is one of the most iconic plants of the Sonoran Desert, serving as keystone species (one on which many other organisms depend, and if no longer present would have major impacts on the ecosystem). It also provides much needed shade for people, pets and other plants. If there's enough space in your landscape consider adding it, especially to an area where shade is desired or in the wilder spaces of larger yards. Found in association with Paloverde (Parkinsonia), Bursage (Ambrosia), and cacti such as prickly pears and cholla, so these plants will complement mesquite well.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Prosopis velutina profile.
SEINet. 2020. Prosopis velutina profile.