Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chandler-Gilbert Community College LibraryEstrella Mountain Community College LibraryGateway Community College LibraryGlendale Community College LibraryMesa Community College LibraryParadise Valley Community College LibraryPhoenix Community College LibraryRio Salado Community College LibraryScottsdale Community College LibrarySouth Mountain Community College Library
Select Your Library

  Select your college above or begin researching district library resources below.

Plant Lists

This guide organizes, categorizes and provides information about plants from the Maricopa Native Seed Library.

Adonis Blazing Star (Mentzelia longiloba)

OTHER COMMON NAMES: Stickleaf, Adonis Blazing Star, Adonis Stickleaf, Desert Blazingstar, Manyflowered Mentzelia, Prairie Stickleaf (Spanish: Pega-pega, Rama Pegajosa, Buena Mujer)

Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Easy

 

Adonis blazing star

Unusual in home landscapes but an important bee plant that thrives in hot dry places in the garden

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE WILDLIFE BENEFITS EDIBLE OTHER CAUTIONS

Small shrub 
(Subshrub)

2'X1'

 Yellow 
(Apr-Aug)

Direct sow or scatter in Fall

Full sun, low water once established   

Special value to bumblebees and native bees, nectar

 No

Biennial (only lives two years) but likely reseeds

Flowers open in the afternoon and close in the morning

Not generally available at nurseries

 

Sharp leaves

Recommended use in the landscape:Plant with other highly drought tolerant plants such as cacti, succulents and shrubs such as brittlebush, creosote, odora, and San Felipe dogweed.

For further information

SEINet. 2020. Mentzelia longiloba profile   

 

 

American Threefold (Trixis californica)

Other common names:  American Trixis, California Trixis, Trixis (Spanish: Hierba del Aire, Santa Lucía, Hierba del Pasmo, Ruina)

Difficulty level (when growing from seed):  Easy

American Threefold in bloom 

American Threefold, by ezpixels. 

 

Bright green leaves and yellow flowers provide visual interest in this uncommonly grown shrub

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE WILDLIFE BENEFITS EDIBLE OTHER CAUTIONS

Small shrub
(Subshrub)

2’X2.5’

Yellow

(Feb-Oct)

Direct sow in soil or scatter

Partial sun, low water once established   

Nectar

No

Not generally available at nurseries

None

Recommended use in the landscape: In nature, American Threefold likes to grow under trees with filtered shade (ex: Paloverde), but do not place in full shade. Would pair well with red flowered plants such as chuparosa (Justicia californica)

For further information

Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Trixis californica profile.   

SEINet. 2020. Trixis californica profile.  

Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Trixis californica profile.  

 

 

Arizona Milkweed (Asclepias angustifolia)

OTHER COMMON NAMES:  narrow leafed milkweed (Spanish: Talayote)

Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Easy

 

Arizona milkweed in bloom

                                                                                       Arizona milkweed, Danielle Carlock

 

One of our native milkweeds, plant to support and attract Monarch and Queen butterflies 

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE WILDLIFE BENEFITS EDIBLE OTHER CAUTIONS

Small shrub 
(Subshrub)

3'X3'

 White 
(Mar-Aug)

Soak seeds in warm tap water for 24 to 48 hours before planting

 

Partial sun, especially in summer, medium water   

Nectar, host plant for Monarch and Queen butterflies  

 No

n/a

 

Milkweeds are poisonous and sap can irritate skin

Recommended use in the landscape:  Group several together in a partially sunny spot, especially under a native tree such as palo verde.

For further information

Native Plants of North America Database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Asclepias angustifolia profile. 

SEINet. 2020. Asclepias angustifolia profile.

Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Asclepias angustifolia profile.

 

Arizona Rosemallow (Hibiscus biseptus)

OTHER COMMON NAMES:  None

Difficulty level (when growing from seed):  Medium

 

  Flowering Arizona rosemallow

 

 One of our native hibiscus plants with showy flowers that attract bees and butterflies 

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE

WILDLIFE

BENEFITS

EDIBLE OTHER CAUTIONS

Small shrub
(subshrub)

2'X2'

Yellow
(Apr-Oct)

Slight scarification
prior to direct sowing

Full or partial sun,
low to medium water (will need supplemental water in summer)

Nectar

No

No thorns

May dieback in winter and resprout at the base in spring

Reseeds in favorable conditions

Not generally available at nurseries

 

None

Recommended use in the landscape:  As a small plant with showy flowers and no thorns, Arizona Rosemallow is best  enjoyed by placing near walkways or patios.

For further information

SEINet. 2020. Hibiscus biseptus profile.  

 

Brownplume Wirelettuce (Stephanomeria pauciflora)

Other common names:  Brownplume Wirelettuce, Brown-Plume Wire-Lettuce, Desert Straw, Fewflower Wirelettuce, Prairie Skeletonplant, Wire lettuce, Wire-Lettuce

Difficulty level (when growing from seed):  Difficult

Wirelettuce in bloom 

Uncommon landscape plant with dainty flowers that attract pollinators

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE WILDLIFE BENEFITS EDIBLE OTHER CAUTIONS

Small shrub
(Subshrub)

2'X2'

White/pink/
purple (May-Sept)

Cold moist stratification for 30-60 days  

Full sun, low water once established   

Special value to native bees, nectar

No

Not generally available at nurseries

May also act like vine, climbing other plants

None

Recommended use in the landscape: Since the plant and its intricate flowers are small, plant where it will stand out, such as near walkways. Its (predominantly) purple flowers make a nice contrast with orange flowered plants such as blanketflowers (Gailardia) or Red Bird of Paradise (Caesalpinia pulcherrima)

For further information

Native Plants of North America Database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Stephanomeria pauciflora profile.  

SEINet. 2020. Stephanomeria pauciflora profile.  

Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Stephanomeria pauciflora profile.  

 

 

Desert Senna (Senna covesii)

Other common names: Coues' Cassia, Coues' Senna, Dais, Rattlebox Senna, Rattleweed (Spanish: Ejotillo, Hojasèn, Daisillo, Ojosón, Oyasón, Rosamaría)

Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Easy

 

Desert senna plant

 A small, long blooming, low maintenance shrub that attracts butterflies

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE WILDLIFE BENEFITS EDIBLE OTHER CAUTIONS

Small shrub
(subshrub)

2'X2' 

Yellow
(April-Oct)

Direct sow into well drained soil. 

Very low water; full sun.  

Host plant for Sleepy orange and cloudless sulphur butterflies

Attracts carpenter bees and bumblebees

No 

May be
leafless for most of the season

Can be
short lived
but often reseeds in the landscape

None

Recommended use in the landscape:Tuck into small spaces in the garden; can be planted in areas without supplemental water. Pairs well with red flowered plants such as Chuparosa (Justicia californica).

For further information

SEINet. 2020. Senna covesii profile.  

Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Senna covesii profile.   

 

Paleface hibiscus (Hibiscus denudatus)

Other common names: Rock hibiscus

Difficulty level (when grown from seed):  Medium

Paleface hibiscus plant

 Rock hibiscus, by lindom. 

 

Small unassuming shrub with interesting flowers when viewed up close

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE

WILDLIFE

BENEFITS

EDIBLE OTHER CAUTIONS

Small shrub
(Subshrub)

 2'X2'

Lavender (May-Nov)

Slight scarification then direct sow or scatter

Full or partial sun, low to medium water  

Host plant for grey hairstreak and common checkered butterfly; nectar, attracts hummingbirds

No 

Reseeds in the landscape in favorable conditions

Not generally available at nurseries

None

Recommended use in the landscape:   Because the flowers are beautiful but dainty, plant where up closing viewing is possible.

For further information:

Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Hibiscus denudatus profile.  

SEINet. 2020. Hibiscus denudatus profile.  

 

Parralena (Thymophylla pentachaeta)

Other common names:  Fiveneedle Pricklyleaf, Dahlberg daisy, Dogweed, Five-needle Pricklyleaf, Fiveneedle Fetid Marigold, Golden Dyssodia, Golden Fleece

Difficulty level (when grown from seed):  Easy

Paralenna in bloom  

 

Small, easy care long bloomer

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE WILDLIFE BENEFITS EDIBLE OTHER CAUTIONS

Small shrub
(Subshrub)

1'X1'

Yellow
(Apr-Oct)


 

Direct sow or scatter in Fall

Full or partial sun, low water

Special value to native bees, nectar, and host plant for Dainty Sulphur butterflies

No

Long bloomer

Often reseeds in the landscape

Can be grown in containers

Has a fragrance that some find unpleasant, but it doesn’t carry from the plant

All parts of the plant, including seeds poisonous if ingested

Recommended use in the landscape:  Mass for effect or mix in with cacti and succulents. Can also be used as a groundcover, container plant, or in rock gardens.

 

For further information

Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Thymophylla pentachaeta profile.  

SEINet. 2020. Thymophylla pentachaeta profile.  

Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Thymophylla pentachaeta profile.  

 

                                                         

 

 

 

San Felipe Dogwood (Adenophyllum porophylloides)

Other common names:  San Felipe Dyssodia

Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Unknown 

San Felipe dogweed plant 

 San Felipe dogweed, by ezpixels. 

 

Nectar plant uncommon in gardens 

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE WILDLIFE BENEFITS EDIBLE OTHER CAUTIONS

Small shrub
(subshrub)

2'X2' 

Yellow/Red/
Orange
(Mar-May
& Sept-Nov)

Unknown

Full or partial sun, low water once established     

Nectar, eaten by birds and small mammals, likely host plant of Dainty Sulphur butterfly

No 

Aromatic leaves liked by some, but not others

Not generally available at nurseries

None

Recommended use in the landscape:  This subdued shrub will pair well with cacti or succulents.


For further information

Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Adenophyllum porophylloides profile.  

SEINet. 2020. Adenophyllum porophylloides profile.    

Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Adenophyllum porophylloides profile.   

 

Spreading fleabane (Erigeron divergens)

Other common names: Branching Fleabane, Desert Fleabane, Fleabane Daisy, Spreading Daisy

Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Easy

   

 Texas crescent butterfly nectaring on fleabane

A dainty, beautiful daisy-like plant whose name doesn’t do it justice

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE WILDLIFE BENEFITS EDIBLE OTHER

Small shrub
(Subshrub)

1'X1.5' 

Shades of white, pink or purple
(Mar-Nov)

Direct sow or scatter in Fall

Low water once established, full or partial sun

Top nectar plant attracting butterflies and bees; host plant for Hooded owlet moth and flower moth

No

Long blooming

Can be short lived but reseeds in favorable conditions

Not generally available at nurseries

Recommended use in the landscape:  Use as a groundcover or tuck into small spaces in the garden

For further information

Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Erigeron divergens profile.  

SEINet. 2020. Erigeron divergens profile.  

Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Erigeron divergens profile 

 

Whitestem paperflower (Psilostrophe cooperi)

Other common names:  Cooper's Paperflower, Paper Daisy, Paper Flower, Paperflower, Whitestem

Difficulty level (when grown from seed):  Unknown

  

                                                                                      Whitestem paperflower, Danielle Carlock 

 

A cheerful, full sun small shrub that serves as a nectar source 

TYPE SIZE FLOWERS GERMINATION CARE WILDLIFE BENEFITS EDIBLE CAUTIONS

Subshrub

1'X1.5"  

Yellow 

Unknown

Full sun, low water

  Nectar

No

Toxic to livestock

Recommended use in the landscape:  At home in wildflower gardens or mixed with succulents, this full sun plant will attract pollinators for nectar.

For further information

Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020.  Psilostrophe cooperi profile.  

SEINet. 2020.  Psilostrophe cooperi profile.  

Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Psilostrophe cooperi profile.