Select your college above or begin researching district library resources below.
Other common names: California Gold Poppy, Desert Gold Poppy, Mexican Poppy (Spanish: Amapola, Amapola del Campo, Amarilla)
Germination Difficulty level: Easy
California poppy, by Danielle Carlock 
This popular desert wildflower is a great performer in the garden, supporting native bees and butterflies with a spectacular annual bloom
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | CAUTIONS |
|
Annual |
2'X2'
|
Orange/yellow (Feb-May) |
Direct sow or scatter: likely to reseed each year |
Full sun, low water once established |
Special value to native bees and bumblebees, nectar, host plant to Acmon blue and Mormon metalmark butterflies |
No |
Can be poisonous if ingested |
Recommended use in the landscape: Mix with other wildflowers, especially lupines, desert chia and other purple colored flowers for a great effect.
For further information:
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. California poppy profile.
SEINet. 2020. California poppy profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. California poppy profile.
Other common names: Butter daisy, Golden Crownbeard, American Dogweed (Spanish: hierba de la bruja, girasolillo)
Germination Difficulty Level: Easy
Cowpen daisy, by Danielle Carlock
Easy to grow, showy, drought tolerant plant that supports a lot of wildlife
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Annual |
3'X3' |
Yellow |
Direct sow or scatter |
Full sun, low water once established |
Special value to native bees and honeybees, nectar, host plant to the Gold Moth and the Bordered Patch butterfly, seeds eaten by birds |
No |
Long bloom season Not generally available at nurseries Can live longer than one season
|
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: Cowpen daisy can be planted with other wildflowers for a colorful bloom, or massed for effect. With the long bloom period it would also be well enjoyed by patios. You may also get two crops per year (March-July and July-December).
For further information:
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Verbesina encelioides profile.
SEINet. 2020. Verbesina encelioides profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Verbesina encelioides profile.
Texas Butterfly Ranch. Cowpen daisy, San Antonio’s Unofficial Pollinator Plant of the Year. Retrieved from
Other common names: California Sage, Chia Sage, Golden Chia, Desert Chia, Chia, (Spanish: Chía, Salvia, Hisopo, Romerillo)
Germination Difficulty Level Easy
Desert chia, by Jeny Davis. Used with permission
Our local chia plant, that's also a great wildlife attractor
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Annual |
1'X1' |
Purple/blue |
Direct sow or |
Full sun, low water once established |
Special value to Native bees, nectar, attracts hummingbirds |
Yes- produces chia seeds, rich in omega 3 fats and fiber |
Once established will likely reseed every year Not generally available at nurseries |
When the flowers dry they can be sharp to handle |
Recommended use in the landscape: Plant with other annual wildflowers for a great display. Pairs well in particular with the yellow and orange colored wildflowers such as poppies and desert marigolds.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Salvia columbariae profile.
SEINet. 2020. Salvia columbariae profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Salvia columbariae profile.
Other common names: Doubleclaw, Red Devils Claw, Unicorn Plant (Spanish: Cuernitos)
Germination Difficulty level: Moderate
Devil's claw in bloom, Frankiecoburn 
Long used by many native peoples of Central Arizona for food and basketry, Devil's claw makes an unusual showpiece for the yard with its unique seed pods
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Annual |
3'X3' |
Pink |
Peel outside layer of the seed, soak in warm water for 24 hours and then sow (in Spring) |
Full or partial sun, low to medium water |
Nectar |
Pods and seeds are edible (Foraging Texas, 2020) |
N/A |
Seed pods are sharp |
Recommended use in the landscape: Place in a sunny or part sun location where the beautiful flowers and unusual seed pods can be enjoyed
For further information
Foraging Texas, 2020. Devil's claw.
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Devil's claw profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Doubleclaw profile.
Other common names: Mesa Tansy-aster (Spanish: Flor de Capita)
Germination Difficulty Level: Easy
Mesa tansy aster, Danielle Carlock .
Like other asters, the late season blooms can fill a nectar void in your landscape
Recommended use in the landscape: Plant with wildflowers or mass for a nice effect. Will also work nicely interspersed in a cactus or succulent garden.
For further information:
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Machaeranthera tagetina profile.
SEINet. 2020. Machaeranthera tangetina profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Machaeranthera tangetina profile.
Sow ‘em & forget about ‘em until they come up (while supplies last)
Includes: Desert senna (Senna covesii), Parry’s penstemon (Penstemon parryi), E. Mohave buckwheat (Erigonium fasciculatum polifolium), Tansy aster (Dietaria sp), Desert chia (Salvia columbariae), Globemallow (Sphaeralcea ambigua), Spreading daisy (Erigeron divergens), Brittlebush (Encelia farinosa), California poppy (Eschscholzia californica), Cowpen daisy (Verbesina enceloides), New Mexico thistle (Cirsium neomexicanum)
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | CAUTIONS |
|
Annuals & Perennials |
Various |
Pink, yellow, purple, white, orange |
Direct sow or scatter in soil or gravel |
Full sun, low water after seeds germinate |
Nectar, larval host plants |
California poppy toxic if ingested; including for dogs |
Recommended use in the landscape: Sow or scatter the seeds in soil or gravel into areas where you'd like to start a wildflower garden. These plants will attract an array of pollinators, including butterflies, moths, and native bees.
Other common names: Golden Tickseed, Goldenwave, Calliopsis
Germination Difficulty level: Easy
Plains coreopsis, by Danielle Carlock
Great plant for a wildflower garden or anywhere you want bright pops of color
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER |
|
Annual |
1.5' X 1.5'
|
Yellow/red (Apr-Jun) |
Direct sow or scatter |
Full sun, medium water |
Nectar, birds eat seeds |
No |
Some plants may survive longer than a year |
Recommended use in the landscape: Add to wildflower gardens or intersperse with succulents and cacti for an interesting effect.
For further information:
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Plains coreopsis profile.
SEINet. 2020. Plains coreopsis profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Plains coreopsis profile.
Other common names: Annual sunflower, Wild sunflower (Spanish: Girasol, Mirasol, Flor de Sol)
Germination Difficulty Level: Easy
Common sunflower, by Danielle Carlock.
Our native sunflower, which supports a variety of wildlife
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE |
|
Annual |
8'X1' |
Yellow |
Direct sow or scatter |
Full sun, low to medium water |
Special value to native bees, Host plant for California Patch, Bordered Patch, and Painted Lady butterflies. nectar, birds eat seeds |
Seeds, oil and flower buds are edible |
Recommended use in the landscape: Plant in the back of a wildflower garden, against a wall where it can stand out, or near vegetable gardens to attract pollinators to your crops.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Helianthus annuus profile.
SEINet. 2020. Helianthus annuus profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Helianthus annuus profile.
Other common names: tanseyleaf tansyaster, aster, Takhoka-daisy, tanseyleaf aster, tanseyleaf goldenweed
Germination Difficulty Level: Easy
Tahoka daisy, by conorflynn.
Like other asters, the late season blooms can fill a nectar void in your landscape
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER |
|
Annual |
2'X2' |
Blue/Purple with yellow centers |
Direct sow or scatter |
Full or partial sun, low water once established |
Nectar, especially in Fall, host for Hooded owlet moths, Sagebrush checkerspot, Bordered patch, and Pearl crescent butterfly |
No |
May live two seasons (biennial) Fern-like leaves Not generally available at nurseries
|
Recommended use in the landscape: Plant with wildflowers or mass for a nice effect. Will also work nicely interspersed in a cactus or succulent garden. Very similar to fall false tansy aster, also available at the seed library.
For further information:
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Machaeranthera tanacetifolia profile.
SEINet. 2020. Machaeranthera tanacetifolia profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Machaeranthera tanacetifolia profile.