Select your college above or begin researching district library resources below.
Other common names: Firewheel, Common Gaillardia, Great Blanketflower
Germination Difficulty Level: Easy
Blanketflower, by Danielle Carlock.
Easy care, beautiful flowered plant recommended for all landscapes
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER |
|
Perennial |
2'X2' |
Orange/red/yellow |
Direct sow or scatter in Fall |
Full or partial sun, low to medium water |
Special value to Native bees, birds eat seeds |
No |
A mixture of varieties have been included; flower colors may vary |
Recommended use in the landscape: Pairs well with plants with purple flowers such as Sages. Plant in small spaces where you are looking for long lasting, easy color.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Gaillardia aristata profile.
SEINet. 2020. Gaillardia aristata profile.
SEINet, 2020. Gaillardia pulchella profile.
Other common names: Chocolate Daisy, Chocolate Flower, Green-eyed Lyre Leaf, Greeneyes, Lyre-leaf
Germination Difficulty level: Easy
Chocolate flowers, by Danielle Carlock.
Chocolate scented flowers are intoxicating
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER |
|
Perennial |
1'X2' |
Yellow |
Direct sow or scatter seeds |
Full or partial sun, low water once established |
Nectar |
Flowers are edible |
Long blooming time. Reseeds in the landscape May be grown in containers |
Recommended use in the landscape: To enhance the chocolate smell and be able to enjoy it the most, plant in mass near a walkway or patio.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Berlandiera lyrata profile.
SEINet. 2020. Berlandiera lyrata profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Berlandiera lyrata profile.
Other common names: Showy Desert Marigold, Paper Daisy, Desert Baileya, Many-flowered Desert Marigold, (Spanish: Hierba Amarilla)
Germination Difficulty level: Easy
Desert marigold, by Danielle Carlock.
Long bloom time and extreme heat and drought tolerance make this plant a must-have
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Perennial |
1'X1.5' |
Yellow |
Direct sow or scatter in Fall |
Full sun, very low water |
Special value to native bees, Host plant for Desert marigold moth |
No |
Short lived, but tends to reseed |
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: Scatter seeds in hot, dry places that could use a bit of color.
For further information:
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Baileya multiradiata profile.
SEINet. 2020. Baileya multiradiata profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Baileya multiradiata profile.
Other common names: Canyon Beardtongue, Canyon Penstemon, Desert Beardtongue, Mohave Beardtongue, Mohave Penstemon, Rosy Desert Beardtongue, Rosy Desert Penstemon
Germination Difficulty level: Easy
Desert penstemon, by Danielle Carlock.
There's nothing "pseudo" spectacular about this plant! The blooms are amazing and will attract hummingbirds
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Perennial |
3'X3' |
Fuchsia |
Direct sow or scatter in Fall |
Full sun, medium water |
Special value to native bees, nectar, attracts hummingbirds |
No |
May reseed in the landscape |
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: Can be massed for a stunning effect or placed where the blooms can be readily seen. Pairs nicely with yellow flowered plants such as Desert marigold (Baileya multiradiata) or Paralenna (Thymophylla pentachaeta). While not blooming this plant will be pretty unassuming so having other bloomers nearby would be desirable.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Penstemon pseudospectabilis profile.
SEINet. 2020. Penstemon pseudospectabilis profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Penstemon pseudospectabilis profile.
Other common names: Eaton’s Penstemon, Firecracker beardtongue, Eaton’s firecracker
Germination Difficulty level: Easy (as long as planted in Fall)
Firecracker Penstemon, by Jeny Davis. Used with permission.
Bright red flowers attract hummingbirds in this easy care plant
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Perennial |
3'X3' |
Red |
Direct sow or scatter in Fall (if planting in Spring, requires 60 day stratification) |
Full or partial sun, low to medium water once established |
Special value to native bees, nectar, attracts hummingbirds |
No |
None |
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: Mass to attract hummingbirds. Pairs well with yellow colored flowers such as desert marigold or paralenna.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Penstemon eatonii profile.
SEINet. 2020. Penstemon eatonii profile.
Other common names: Desert Thistle, Foss Thistle, Lavender Thistle, Powderpuff Thistle, Utah Thistle (Spanish: Cardo Santo)
Germination Difficulty level: Easy
New Mexico thistle, by Danielle Carlock.
Take a look at incorporating native thistle into your landscape. Thistles have been much maligned but our native thistle is one of the best plants to support our native bees and Monarch butterflies and the flowers are pretty spectacular
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Perennial |
4’X2’ can be much taller |
Purple/white |
Direct sow or scatter seeds |
Full or partial sun, low water once established |
Nectar, special value to native bees and honeybees, host plant for Painted Lady butterflies. Heavily used by Monarch butterflies |
Large bottom leaves make an excellent salad green; young flower stalks and taproots also edible (Tull, 2013).
|
Short lived, but reseeds in the landscape Not generally available at nurseries |
Prickly leaves; sensitive persons can develop contact dermatitis |
Recommended use in the landscape: As a tall, spindly plant, place in the back of plantings where the flowers can stand out but be out of the way.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Cirsium neomexicanum profile.
SEINet. 2020. Cirsium neomexicanum profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Cirsium neomexicanum profile.
Tull, D. 2013. Edible and useful plants of the Southwest. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press.
Sow ‘em & forget about ‘em until they come up (while supplies last)
Includes: Desert senna (Senna covesii), Parry’s penstemon (Penstemon parryi), E. Mohave buckwheat (Erigonium fasciculatum polifolium), Tansy aster (Dietaria sp), Desert chia (Salvia columbariae), Globemallow (Sphaeralcea ambigua), Spreading daisy (Erigeron divergens), Brittlebush (Encelia farinosa), California poppy (Eschscholzia californica), Cowpen daisy (Verbesina enceloides), New Mexico thistle (Cirsium neomexicanum)
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | CAUTIONS |
|
Annuals & Perennials |
Various |
Pink, yellow, purple, white, orange |
Direct sow or scatter in soil or gravel |
Full sun, low water after seeds germinate |
Nectar, larval host plants |
California poppy toxic if ingested; including for dogs |
Recommended use in the landscape: Sow or scatter the seeds in soil or gravel into areas where you'd like to start a wildflower garden. These plants will attract an array of pollinators, including butterflies, moths, and native bees.
Other common names: Parry’s beardtongue
Germination Difficulty level: Easy
Parry's penstemon, by Danielle Carlock.
The most common Penstemon in landscapes in our area; will attract a lot of hummingbirds
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Perennial |
3'X3' |
Pink |
Direct sow or scatter in the Fall |
Full sun, low water once established |
Nectar, special value to native bees, attracts hummingbirds |
No |
Plants can be short lived but will reseed themselves |
Some people find it weedy; it will reseed |
Recommended use in the landscape: Include in a wildflower garden or an area where there isn’t supplemental water. These plants are extremely tough, can live through summers with practically no supplemental water. The annual bloom is spectacular and well worth it just for the hummingbird observations. Plants become unassuming and blend into the background once they are no longer blooming.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Penstemon parryi profile.
SEINet. 2020. Penstemon parryi profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Penstemon parryi profile.
Includes Desert senna (Senna covesii), desert marigold (Baileya multiradiata), Southwestern mock vervain (Glandularia gooddingii), turpentine bush (Ericameria laricifolia) and pink fairy duster (Calliandra eriophylla)
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Easy
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE |
|
Perennial |
various |
Pink, yellow, purple |
Direct sow |
Full sun, low water |
Nectar, larval host plants |
No |
Recommended use in the landscape: Ideal for larger areas or areas that need revegetation.
Other common names: Angel's Trumpet, Devil's Weed, Indian-apple, Jimson Weed, Pricklyburr, Western Jimson weed, Sacred Thorn-apple, Sacred Thornapple, Thornapple (Spanish: Toloachè, Toloachè Grande, Tecuyaui, Belladona)
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Easy
The well known Sacred Datura plant, which has many ethnobotanical uses, is also a host plant for several species of moth and supports bees with nectar
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Perennial |
3'X6' |
White |
Direct sow or scatter in Spring |
Full or partial sun, medium water |
Host plant for the Pink spotted hawkmoth, Rustic sphinx moth, and Five spotted hawkmoth; nectar |
No |
May act as an annual |
All parts are highly toxic |
Recommended use in the landscape: Place where the white, showy flowers can be admired, especially in the evening.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Sacred datura profile.
SEINet, 2020. Sacred datura profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Sacred datura profile.
Other common names: Autumn tansyaster, aster, hoary aster, New Mexico tansy-aster, New Mexico tansyaster
Germination Difficulty level: Easy
Fall false tansy aster, by ezpixels.
With blooms that continue into October, fall tansy aster fills what is often a nectar void for bees and butterflies
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER |
|
Perennial |
2'X2' |
Purple/blue |
Direct sow or scatter |
Full or partial sun, low water once established |
Nectar, especially in the Fall when other plants aren't blooming Host plant for hooded owlet moths and flower moths |
No |
May be short lived, but will reseed under favorable conditions
|
Recommended use in the landscape: Plant with wildflowers or mass for a nice effect. Will also work nicely interspersed in a cactus or succulent garden.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Dieteria asteroides profile.
SEINet. 2020. Dieteria asteroides profile.
SEINet. 2020. Dieteria canescens profile.