Select your college above or begin researching district library resources below.
Germination Difficulty level: Easy (no pretreatment required)
Arizona rosewood, by pelser, https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/168170756. 
The perfect evergreen screening or windbreak plant, an excellent replacement for poisonous Oleander.
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | OTHER |
|
Shrub |
Up to 15' tall and 10' wide |
White (May-July) |
Easy-no pretreatment required. Sow indoors or into well draining soil. |
Full to partial sun, low water |
Nectar, cover for birds, host plant for two tailed swallowtail butterfly |
Avoid western exposures, slow growing |
Recommended use in the landscape: Arizona rosewood is a beautiful, evergreen, multi-trunked shrub that can serve as an excellent hedge or screen plant. Use it as a non poisonous replacement for Oleander. It can grow as a small tree, up to 20 feet but that is not likely in your yard unless it is over-irrigated.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Vauquelinia californica profile
SEINet. 2020. Vauquelinia californica profile
Other common names: Goldhills, White Brittlebush (Spanish: Rama Blanca, Incienso, Hierba del Bazo, Hierba [rama] del Bazo, Hierba de Las Animas, Palo Blanco, Hierba Ceniza)
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Easy
Brittlebush, by Danielle Carlock.
Common, extremely drought tolerant shrub
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | OTHER | CAUTIONS | |
|
Shrub |
3'X4' |
Yellow |
Direct sow or scatter in Spring |
Full sun; very low water once established |
Nectar, attracts butterflies and bees; birds eat seeds |
|
Prolific reseeder, so once you have one you will likely get many others. Seed was collected from the variety with brown flower centers, but some of the offspring may have yellow centers (the more common form of brittlebush) Dormant in summer |
Don’t provide too much water or can be invaded by aphids |
Recommended use in the landscape: Place in a hot sunny part of the yard; can be used as a background plant; pairs well with red flowered plants such as Chuparosa (Justicia californica) or succulents and cacti.
For further information
Irish, Mary. 2006. Perennials for the Southwest. Portland, OR: Timber Press.
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Encelia farinosa profile.
SEINet. 2020. Encelia farinosa profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Encelia farinosa profile.
Other common names: Greasewood. Spanish: Hediondilla, Gobernadora, Guamis
Germination Difficulty level: Difficult (due to slow germination and multiple pretreatments, see below); but easy once established
Creosote, by Danielle Carlock.
Quintessential desert shrub, a keystone species supporting an array of wildlife while being extremely drought tolerant.
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | OTHER |
|
Shrub |
8'X8' |
Yellow (Primary bloom is May-June, with sparser blooms at other times, depending on precipitation) |
Peel open the fuzzy seed coat to free the seeds, then sow. Scarification and a boiling water soak (in distilled water) prior to sowing may aid germination. If sowing indoors, seedlings are delicate and moisture level needs to be closely monitored |
Full sun, very low water |
Special value to native bees, nectar, moth larval host plant, provides cover, shade, and food for a variety of reptiles and mammals |
Fragrance after rains is not to be missed; wide variety of medicinal uses. Extremely low maintenance. |
Recommended use in the landscape: A large, evergreen shrub that can be used for screening/hedging, it's equally at home in "natural areas" in the landscape as well as any desert/xeriscape plantings.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Larrea tridentat profile.
SEINet. 2020. Larrea tridentata profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Larrea tridentata profile.
Other common names: Apricot Globe-mallow, Apricot Mallow, Desert Mallow, Globe mallow, Sore-eye Poppy, (Spanish: Mal de Ojo, Malva)
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Easy
Globe mallows, by Danielle Carlock.
A very easy care plant that supports pollinators while providing beauty; a must have
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Shrub |
3'X3' |
Usually orange, but shades of pink, red, white, and lavender also possible |
Direct sow in Fall |
Full sun, very low water once established |
Special value to native bees, host plant for several species of butterflies and moths, nectar source |
No |
Reseeds in favorable conditions Long bloom time
|
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: Plant in full sun areas of the garden, especially those that don’t have supplemental water. Pairs well with succulents/cacti or place in the backdrop of a wildflower garden. One of the best parts about growing this plant is finding seedlings that emerge and flower in a different color than the original plant. Older plants can be woody and unattractive, so pulling these to make more room for the new seedlings will keep things looking fresh.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Sphaeralcea ambigua profile.
SEINet. 2020. Sphaeralcea ambigua profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Sphaeralcea ambigua profile.
Other common names: Thurber's desert honeysuckle, Thurber's Desert-Honeysuckle, buckbrush, (Spanish: Cola de gallo,
Chuparrosa, Colegallo, Chuparosa)
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Unknown
Desert Honeysuckle, by Jeny Davis. Used with permission
Beautiful shrub that will attract hummingbirds to your yard
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Shrub |
4'X3' |
Red/orange |
Unknown |
Full sun, low water once established |
Nectar source, hummingbird pollinated, host plant for Elada checkerspot butterflies |
No |
Drops leaves in winter |
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: Lends a tropical feel to the garden; plant near patios or other areas where the hummingbirds it attracts can be enjoyed. Also can be considered for a low naturalistic hedge (don't shear), but keep in mind that it will go dormant (leafless in winter).
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Anisacanthus thurberi profile.
SEINet. 2020. Anisacanthus thurberi profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Anisacanthus thurberi profile.
Other common names: Coulter Hibiscus, Desert Hibiscus; (Spanish: Tulipán, Hibisco)
Difficulty level: Easy
Desert rosemallow, by Andrewtree.
A native hibiscus of Arizona, often unnoticed until it blooms
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Shrub |
3'X3' |
Yellow with reddish center |
Direct sow or scatter |
Full or partial sun, low water once established |
Nectar, host plant for grey hairstreak butterfly, yellow scallop moth, and various geometer moths |
No |
Reseeds in the landscape in favorable conditions. Not generally available at nurseries Cut back nearly to the base each winter to encourage a bushier habit and more blooms |
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: Since desert rosemallow has a tall straggly growth form, plant it near the back of the garden.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Hibiscus coulteri profile.
SEINet. 2020. Hibiscus coulteri profile.
Southwest Desert Flora. 2020. Hibiscus coulteri profile.
Spadefoot Nursery. 2020. Shrub selection guide.
Other common names: Slender Poreleaf, Yerba del Venadov (Spanish: Hierba del Venado)
Difficulty level: Easy
Odora, by Jeny Davis. Used with permission.
Uncommon in gardens but an important wildlife plant
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Shrub |
2'X2' |
White/Purple |
Direct sow or scatter |
Full or partial sun, low water once established |
Host plant for Dainty Sulphur butterfly and several species of owlet moths; nectar |
No |
Not generally available at nurseries |
Has a fragrance some like and some do not, but fragrance does not carry from the plant |
Recommended use in the landscape: Blends well with other native plants including cacti and succulents.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Porophyllum gracile profile.
SEINet. 2020. Porophyllum gracile profile.
Southwestern Desert Flora, 2020. Porophyllum gracile profile
Other common names: Parish Goldeneye, Nevada Goldeneye, Parish's Scrub-Aster, Shrubby Goldeneye
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Easy
Parish's goldeneye, by eric_hough, https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/166002768
Long blooming easy care shrub
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | CAUTIONS |
|
Shrub |
4'X4" |
Yellow (Jan-Dec, depending on precipitation or irrigation) |
No pretreatment required; sow or scatter seeds |
Low to moderate water, full sun, and well drained soil |
Seeds eaten by birds and small mammals, nectar, host plant for California patch and bordered patch butterflies as well as the white lined sphinx moths |
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: This attractive, long-blooming shrub will look good in any native garden. Shearing will negate its beauty and value to wildlife.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Parish's goldeneye profile.
SEINet. 2020. Parish's goldeneye profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Parish's goldeneye profile.
Other common names: Indian Mallow, Shrubby Indian Mallow, Hoary abutilon
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Unknown (see below)
Pelotazo, by Danielle Carlock.
Uncommon in home landscapes but common in the Sonoran desert with multihued blooms that attract pollinators
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Shrub |
4'X4' |
Orange/ |
Unknown, possibly |
Full sun, low water once established |
Nectar, host plant for several species of skipper butterflies and Bird dropping moth, Owlet moth, Crambid seed moth |
No |
Not generally available at nurseries |
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: Plant where you can enjoy the intricate blooms, but also in a location that doesn’t necessarily receive a lot of water or other attention. Would pair well with purple colored flowers such as sages and verbenas.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Abutilon incanum profile.
SEINet. 2020. Abutilon incanum profile.
Other common names: Fairy Duster, False Mesquite, Hairy-Leaved Calliandra, Mock Mesquite, Mesquitella, Pink-flowered Acacia, Pink Mimosa, Stickpea (Spanish: Huajillo, Mezquitillo, Cosahui, Pelo de Angel, Cabeza de Angel)
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Medium
Pink fairy duster, by Danielle Carlock.
Pink feather ball-like flowers are unique and attract a variety of wildlife
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Shrub |
4'X4' |
Pink |
Scarification can speed germination; then directly sow or scatter |
Full sun; low water once established |
Nectar, host plant for Ceranus blue and Marine blue butterflies, Melipotis moths, birds eat seeds, hummingbird pollinated |
No |
N/A |
Flowers have a strong odor that many find unpleasant |
Recommended use in the landscape: Because it attracts hummingbirds, you might want to plant where you can see it but not necessarily smell it, due to the rather unpleasant odor when blooming. Pairs well with cacti or succulents.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Calliandra eriophylla profile.
SEINet. 2020. Calliandra eriophylla profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Calliandra eriophylla profile.
Other common names: Wright’s desert peony, Brownfoot
Difficulty level: Easy
Pink perezia, by Danielle Carlock.
Beautiful, fragrant shrub not often found in landscapes that’s a butterfly attractor
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Shrub |
3'X3' |
Pink/White (Mar-Nov) |
Direct sow anytime, no pretreatment required |
Partial sun, moderate water |
Nectar |
No |
Not generally available at nurseries Fragrant flowers Long bloomer |
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: Plant under a tree where it will get filtered shade, such as Palo Verde or Ironwood
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Acourtia wrightii profile.
SEINet. 2020. Acourtia wrightii profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Acourtia wrightii profile.
Other common names: Chuckwalla’s delight
Difficulty level: Easy
Rough sweetbush, by Jeny Davis. Used with permission.
Overlooked for the landscape and not available at most nurseries but packs a powerful punch for wildlife
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Shrub |
3'X3'
|
Yellow |
No pretreatment; direct sow or scatter |
Low water, Full or partial sun |
Nectar attracts bees and butterflies. Host plant for Wright’s metalmark butterfly, Tiger moth and Tortrix moth. Birds and small mammals eat seeds. Attracts chuckwallas |
No |
Fragrant Not generally available at nurseries |
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: Because it attracts many butterflies place in a location where it can be viewed.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Bebbia juncea profile.
SEINet. 2020. Bebbia juncea profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Bebbia wrightii profile.
Other common names: Cane Milkweed, Desert Milkweed; (Spanish: Jumete, Yamate, Candelilla Bronca, Ajamete, Talayote)
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Easy
Monarch emerging from chrysalis on rush milkweed, Danielle Carlock.
Easy care, important Monarch/Queen butterfly plant
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
| Shrub
|
4'X3' |
White |
Soak seeds in warm tap water for 24 to 48 hours before planting |
Full sun, low water once established (young plants need more water than expected, especially in summer) |
Special Value to Native Bees, bumblebees, honey bees and supports biological control, host plant for Monarch and Queen butterflies, nectar, host for Milkweed tussock tiger moth |
No |
This plant is very sculptural; makes a nice focal point. |
All milkweeds are poisonous; sap can irritate skin |
Recommended use in the landscape: Mass for stunning effect and to help butterflies locate the plant.
For further information:
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Asclepias subulata profile.
SEINet. 2020. Asclepias subulata profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Asclepias subulata profile.
Other common names: Mountain Laurel, Sugar Bush (Spanish: Lentisco)
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Medium
Sugar Sumac, by efmer 
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE |
|
Shrub |
10'X10',can be larger if given supplemental water |
White (Mar-May) |
Soak in tap water 24 hours and immediately sow the seeds that swell. Boil the rest in water and cool immediately. Plant those that swell. |
Full or partial sun, low water |
Special value to native bees, nectar source, food for many birds and mammals |
Berries are edible, and can be used to make “sumac lemonade” |
Recommended use in the landscape: This beautiful evergreen shrub can be used as a hedge since it retains it’s leaves all year and remains green even during the hottest summers. Its lushness lends a surprising and unexpected touch to a Sonoran desert landscape, even though it is a native here
For further information
SEINet. 2020. Rhus ovata profile.
Southwest Desert Flora. 2020. Rhus ovata profile.
Other common names: Palmer's Indian Mallow, Indian Mallow, Palmer Indian Mallow
Difficulty level: Easy
Abutilon palmeri, by Sue Carnahan.
Unique apricot colored leaves and velvety heart shaped flowers
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | EDIBLE | OTHER | CAUTIONS |
|
Shrub |
3'X3' |
Apricot |
Direct sow or scatter |
Full sun, low water once established |
Nectar and host plant to several species of skipper butterflies |
No |
Reseeds in the landscape |
None |
Recommended use in the landscape: With its soft appearance it contrasts nicely with cacti and succulents. Also contrasts nicely with purple flowered plants such as Sages.
For further information
SEINet. 2020. Abutilon palmeri profile.
Southwest Desert Flora, 2020. Abutilon palmeri profile.
Other common names: larchleaf goldenweed, Ericameria, Turpentine Brush, Turpentinebush; (Spanish; Hierba De Conejo)
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Unknown germination requirements
Turpentine bush, Danielle Carlock,
Excellent choice for providing late season nectar
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS |
|
Shrub |
4'X4' |
Yellow (Aug-Nov) |
Unknown |
Easy; low water, full sun |
Great late season nectar plant for pollinators, larval host plant for hooded owlet moth, rabbit browsed, birds eat seeds |
Recommended use in the landscape: Include in sunny, drier areas of your landscape. Great for providing nectar in Fall.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Ericameria larcifolia profile.
SEINet. 2020. Ericamera larcifolia profile.
Other common names: Algodoncillo, Thurber's Cotton
Difficulty level (when grown from seed): Unknown
Wild Cotton, by Danielle Carlock.
The Sonoran desert’s wild cotton, a handsome, unique shrub for the landscape
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS | OTHER |
|
Shrub |
6'X6' or taller |
Cream/pale yellow (Aug-Oct) |
Unknown |
Full or partial sun; low water once established |
Nectar, host for several species of moths, bee pollinated |
Winter deciduous Not generally available at nurseries |
Recommended use in the landscape: Plant in an area that receives afternoon shade in summer, perhaps near patios or seating areas to enjoy the showy flowers
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Gossypium thurberi profile
SEINet. 2020. Gossypium thurberi profile
Other common names: Yellowbells, Yellow Trumpetbush, Yellow Trumpetflower, Trumpetbush, Trumpetflower, Yellow Elder, Hardy Yellow Trumpet, Yellow Trumpet Bush (Spanish: Esperanza, Gloria, Lluvia de Oro, Tronador, Caballito)
Germination Difficulty level: Easy (no pretreatment required)
Yellow bells, by sliwa, https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/189064874
This widely available, long blooming shrub is not only a good screening plant but also attracts hummingbirds.
| TYPE | SIZE | FLOWERS | GERMINATION | CARE | WILDLIFE BENEFITS |
|
Shrub |
5'X5' |
Yellow (Apr-Nov) |
Easy-no pretreatment required. Sow indoors or outdoors. |
Full to partial sun, low to medium water |
Nectar, host plant for several moth species, food for birds and mammals, attracts hummingbirds. |
Recommended use in the landscape: Yellow bells can be used as a screening plant or anywhere a bright pop of color is desired. It can be trained into a small tree, but it's natural shrubby growth habit is quite beautiful. Don't shear so it's beauty can be enjoyed and it's benefits to pollinators can be realized.
For further information
Native North American Plant database, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, 2020. Tecoma stans profile
SEINet. 2020. Tecoma stans profile