Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chandler-Gilbert Community College LibraryEstrella Mountain Community College LibraryGateway Community College LibraryGlendale Community College LibraryMesa Community College LibraryParadise Valley Community College LibraryPhoenix Community College LibraryRio Salado Community College LibraryScottsdale Community College LibrarySouth Mountain Community College Library
Select Your Library

  Select your college above or begin researching district library resources below.

Research Tips: Step 2: Finding Resources

Finding Resources: Basic search tips and links to library resources

 

Click the image to start tutorial.

Finding Resources

 

 Database Search tips:

  • Check the "full-text" box to limit your searches to complete articles.

  • Check the "peer-reviewed" box to limit your searches to scholarly articles.

  • Use quotation marks around your search terms for phrases of 2 or more words.

  • Use the word AND in between your search terms or try the Advanced Search page.

  • Experiment with different keywords (use synonyms). Try more than one database.

 

Links for Finding Resources:

  • Articles & Databases: To find articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, consider your topic and select a database from one of the subject areas. If you're not sure where to start, try one of the databases in the "Most Used Databases" section, such as Academic Search Premier and Academic OneFile.

  •  Books & eBooks: To find print/paper books, ebooks, DVDs and other media items use the MCCCD Library Catalog. For eBooks only (General or Reference),search the individual collections (ebrary, NetLibrary, Credo, Gale Virtual Reference Library and Salem).

  •  Image Collections:   To find images, photos and artwork, search the four online image collections (ARTstor, Credo Reference, EBSCO Image Collection, and National Gallery Collection (2009). 

Need personalized help? Visit Ask a Librarian 24/7 Chat or your college library.

 

More Information

Return to Library Resources Home

My College Library

 
For additional resources, be sure to check

My College Library

 

               Image and link to Ask a Librarian

More Info